• The school nurse is an invaluable partner in ensuring that students are healthy, safe, and prepared to learn. According to the National Association of School Nurses (NASN), the role of the school nurse is to advance the well being, academic success, and life-long achievement of students. To that end, school nurses facilitate positive student responses to normal development; promote health and safety; intervene with actual and potential health problems; and actively collaborate with others to build every student's capacity for adaptation, self-management, self-advocacy, and learning.

    Every child deserves a school nurse!

    MN Health Services Statute

    School Nurses are committed to students' health and safety through the establishment of comprehensive school health programs. In ISD 318, each school has an RN or LPN Building Nurse assigned to provide health services under the direction of the Licensed School Nurse.

    It is the role of the Licensed School Nurse to identify student health needs, decide the appropriate action, determine how the plan will be implemented, and evaluate the student's progress. The Licensed School Nurse and Building Nurse Team are responsible for the overall management of the health offices. This includes:

    • scheduling vision, hearing, and scoliosis screening according to state/district guidelines;
    • maintaining health records, including immunization records according to state law;
    • working with school staff to understand individual student health needs;
    • being a liaison between home, school, and health care needs as they relate to their health and educational plans (IHP, 504, IEP); and
    • functioning as a member of the student support services team (social worker, psychologist, counselor, and administration).

    The Licensed School Nurse is also available to provide referral information regarding community resources for health concerns. Under the supervision of the Licensed School Nurse, the Building Nurses provide routine first aid and daily administration of medication (when prescribed by a physician). It is the Building Nurse who acts as a liaison between the health office and the home by contacting parents when a student becomes ill or is injured during the school day. The Building Nurse consults with the Licensed School Nurse when there is an emergency when there is a need for physical assessment of an illness or an injury or for non-routine health concerns that may arise during the school day.

    MN Licensed School Nurse Requirement

  • Nursing Staff

    Licensed School Nurse
    Angela Elhard, PHN LSN
    218-327-5760
    aelhard@isd318.org

    Bigfork School
    Kimberly Powell, RN
    218-743-3444
    kpowell@isd318.org

    Cohasset Elementary
    218-327-5860
    Angela Webb, RN
    awebb@isd318.org
    Paula Goggleye, RN
    pgoggleye@isd318.org

    East Rapids Elementary
    Lianne Scholl, LPN
    218-327-5880
    lscholl@isd318.org

    West Rapids Elementary
    Traci Lessman, RN
    218-327-5870
    tlessman@isd318.org

    RJE Middle School
    Jamie Goodwin, RN
    218-327-5800
    jgoodwin@isd318.org

    GRHS
    Teresa Domagall, RN
    218-327-5760
    tdomagall@isd318.org

    ECSE
    Jenny Berkeland, RN
    218-327-5579
    jberkeland@isd318.org

    ISD 318 also provides limited health services for St. Joe's Catholic School
    Cathy Erickson
    218-326-6232