Program Name Change Announcement!

  • Anishinaabe Gikinoo'amaadiwin was formerly known as "Indian Education". We are still here, and we are still the same program. We have adopted a new name in an effort to become more culturally aware and reflect the correct identity of our students. Anishinaabe Gikinoo'amaadiwin means "Ojibwe Education" in the Ojibwe language. 

    Anishinaabe Gikinoo'amaadiwin is pronounced:

    uh-nih-shin-ah-bay gih-kih-new uh-mah-dih-win

    Our team would be happy to help you pronounce this. Please swing by any of our classrooms and ask! 

  • Anishinaabe Gikinoo’amaadiwin (Ojibwe Education)

    Woodland Floral

    Since 1974, the Ojibwe Education Programs of ISD 318 has helped ensure the highest quality education for all children of native descent.

    Our Mission:
    ISD 318 Ojibwe Education Program is here to assist Native American students and their families by promoting academic success and cultural understanding between community, staff, parents, and students.

    Program Vision:
    The vision of the program is to work with Native American students as a whole, while providing social, emotional, physical, and economic support towards graduation and to become successful community members and practice life skills through the Seven Grandfather Teachings.

    The Seven Grandfather Teachings:

    • Wisdom - Nibwaakaawin
    • Love - Zaagi'idiwin
    • Respect - Manaaji'idiwin
    • Bravery - Zoongide'ewin 
    • Honesty - Gwayakwaadiziwin
    • Humility - Inendizowin
    • Truth - Debwewin
  • Contact Us

    Program Director - Office at East

    Bruce Goodwin

    218-327-5880 x41909

    bgoodwin@isd318.org

    Program Coordinator - Office at East

    Jessica Bobrowski

    218-327-5880 x41973

    jbobrowski@isd318.org

    Student Advocate - GRHS

    Ella Cummings

    218-327-5760 x41681

    ecummings@isd318.org

    Student Advocate - RJEMS and Bigfork

    Jessi Bloom

    218-327-5800 x41257

    jbloom@isd318.org 

    Student Advocate - East Elementary

    Samantha Gould

    218-327-5880 x41974

    sagould@isd318.org

    Student Advocate - West Elementary and Cohasset

    Cassie Vernig

    218-327-5870 x41882

    cvernig@isd318.org 

    Cultural Advocate - Office at RJEMS

    Eloise Jackson

    218-327-5800 x41257

    ejackson@isd318.org